It was Sunday July 2nd, and we had a scheduled induction because you, little lady, did not want to come out. I was 41 weeks & 3 days pregnant. Your dad and I pulled into Madigan Hospital at Fort Lewis, Washington, smiling and so happy and excited to meet you. In fact, I was so excited that I couldn’t sleep the entire night before. We got into a room at 9:45am. They checked my cervix to see where I was and I was only 1cm dilated. They began induction at 11am with a foley bulb. Contractions began immediately after they put it in so I was happy about that! It took 7 ½ hours for it to fall out (6:30pm). The next step was pitocin and that began at 7:30pm. My midwife told me I would be on pitocin for 6 hours, get checked and then she would break my water. At around 11 that night, I was really struggling with the pain and contractions from the pitocin so I asked my nurse to hook me up to the wifi monitors so I could get up and move around and take a hot shower. Eventually I started to feel completely exhausted from lack of sleep. This is when I asked for something to help me sleep. My midwife checked me and I was 5cm dilated and 70% effaced at midnight. At 1am they broke my water and then left. This is when things got real! Your daddy went to sleep during this time because I kept telling him I would need him later for pushing, plus it was late and I knew he was tired. An hour later they checked my cervix again and I was only 6cm. You just weren’t wanting to come out. Haha! She said she expected me to be at LEAST another 4-6 hours. Because I wasn’t dilating fast, I was getting discouraged and decided to get the epidural. By the time I got it, I was 7cm dilated. It was 3:30am and I was excited because I thought I would be able to get some sleep. Unfortunately that wasn’t the case. Your heart started to descend a lot. It went from being in the 150s-170s to the 90s-120s. So they cut off all the pitocin and did an amniotic fusion for you.l. This meant no sleep for mom! They were coming in every 30min to reposition me to try and get your heart beat back up. Finally at 5:30am they put me back on pitocin slowly because you were doing better. I finally ended up getting an hour and a half of sleep and woke up at 7am to excruciating back labor. This was not fun! Our new midwife came in (she delivered you) and I thought she would check me but she told me I hadn’t been having any contractions during the night so she was gonna wait 2 hours. I thought she was wrong because I knew I was having contractions. Shortly after, I began throwing up. My nurse told me I was going to have a baby soon! She went and got the midwife and she checked me at 9:40am – I was 9cm & 100% effaced. She told me I would probably be pushing in the next hour. She was right. I started pushing at 10:40am. Once you were close to coming, the midwife asked if I wanted a mirror to see you and I said yes. I could see your head and your dark hair!!! It gave me so much motivation. I kept telling your dad and your grandma “she’s right there. She is almost here!” I was so close to meeting my baby girl ! After 90min of pushing, you my perfect angel, Everlee Diamond, was born at 12:15pm on July 3rd (41weeks 4days). They gave you right to me and you didn’t leave my chest for over an hour. Your daddy and I were bawling our eyes out because you were so perfect. So unbelievably perfect. You were 8lbs 7oz, 19 1/2in long. Dark brown hair. Long toes and feet. Chubbiest cheeks and cutest button nose. You looked just like me, but so so beautiful. It’s all I kept saying to you and to everyone who would list. And I will keep saying it forever. By far, the best day of my life sweet girl.
Total weight gain/loss: As far as I know, 10lbs. I try not to weigh myself until my appointments. Honestly it could be higher though.
Maternity clothes? Oh my god you guys, I bought my first pair of maternity jeans and I don't think I can ever go back to regular jeans!! Shae and I were at the mall browsing and I decided to go into motherhood maternity (I always refused to go in thinking they were way too expensive, but surprisingly they weren't all that expensive!). I also bought an olive green t-shirt.
Stretch marks? None! I got this body oil in my last bump box I got, and I've been mixing it with my Mama Bee's stretch mark cream and I really like the consistency and hydration it gives me. So let's see if it holds strong for a few more months.
Sleep: I really struggled this last week with sleep. With the back pain, having to pee, and the day light savings time change, it's been really messing with me!
Symptoms: Back pain in my lower back, mid back and upper back; I dry-heaved a few times this week from smells; overall just tired and cranky.
Have you told family and friends: Who even are you if you don't know I'm pregnant by now? Haha! Kidding, but a lady at work told me she didn't even know I was pregnant until this week because I wasn't showing.
Miss Anything? An alcoholic drink and being able to get comfortable. Man do I miss that.
Movement: She is quite the active little thing in there! :)
Food cravings: I was craving an ice cream cone like you wouldn't believe Monday night.
Anything making you queasy or sick: The sight of my fridge, honestly. There is nothing in there that is bad but every morning the sight of it makes me sick.
Have you started to show yet: YES.
Gender prediction: She is still very much a girl!
Ultrasound Update: We haven't had an ultrasound since I was 20weeks but we had a doctor appointment at 24 weeks and she had a strong heart beat of 158. I am getting so anxious to schedule our 3D/4D ultrasound in a few weeks!
Labor Signs: No thank goodness! I keep waiting for Braxton Hicks contractions but still none!
Belly Button in or out? In but it is making it's way to the outside world.
Wedding rings on or off? On - I think I will cry if and when the day comes I can't put them on!
Happy or Moody most of the time: Very happy but incredibly cranky :(
Looking forward to: My mom getting here in 3 weeks and our 3D/4D ultrasound after that!
March 14, 2017. The due date of our first baby. I never thought this day would come so fast. My heart breaks knowing that we could have a baby already with us. It makes me angry that every single time I go to the doctors I have to say that I have been pregnant twice but have no living children. I am angry at myself for refusing to believe I was pregnant in the beginning, refusing to take a test, taking ibuprofen every morning before clinicals because of the light cramps I was having thinking I was about to get hit hard with excruciating cramps from starting my period. I just kept putting it off. Finally when I did take the test on July 9th 2016, and I got to experience a positive pregnancy test for the first time, I cried. I was so excited for something that wasn't planned. I loved something that I didn't even know about until that very second. And it was all taken away the very next week.
Three months later, we were pregnant again. Currently I am almost 26 weeks pregnant with a healthy baby girl and I could not be more grateful. But I will always wonder what our first baby was, wonder what they looked like, what they sounded like and what they would grow up to be. I will always wonder what went wrong and why us. I will never forget the early morning I woke up to delivering my baby. I went to the bathroom and there it was. I instantly broke down, fell to my knees, cried like I've never cried before, broken like I've never been broken before, more angry then I've ever been. Having to put everything that passed into a sandwich baggie and head to the hospital for the second day in a row. I remember how busy the waiting room was, and kids were screaming and crying. I started crying at the sight of a pregnant mom, babies, any children at all. I remember them asking me why I was there and having to answer, "I miscarried my baby this morning."
I'm not trying to be gory or make this hard to read, I'm just pouring out how I felt and still feel. I will forever be so grateful for the week Shae and I shared knowing about our little secret. We were so unbelievably excited. It is crazy how fast things change, you have this amazing week of planning nurseries and gender reveals and talking about names and then morning comes and you go about your day like normal and there it is... the blood. To say the next few days were easy is an understatement. The fear of what is to come and not having any control to stop what is inevitable. Wanting to scream at your body to stop and just let things be okay, but not being able to do anything but wait and grieve and worst of all, let go.

July 9, 2016
To any of you who have gone through this, are going through this, or may go through this in the future, you are not alone. I promise you aren't. I remember feeling so alone because nobody around me had gone through it. Nobody talked about it. I felt like my husband wasn't understanding. The pain I was experiencing physically and emotionally was something I swear I could never bear again. But I promise you will get through it. You will.
To my first baby A,
I only wish you were here meeting me for the first time, being held by two parents who love you more than you will ever know. You gave me and your dad so much excitement and love in only a single week, but you will always continue to be loved. I love you so much and I can't wait to meet you one day.

I still have our announcement onesie in my nightstand along with the pregnancy test I took. I will keep this onesie forever and squeeze it tight whenever I pull it out. I used to look at it and only cry, but since then it has gotten me through some pretty tough days. So thank you. We will always love you.

July 9, 2016
To any of you who have gone through this, are going through this, or may go through this in the future, you are not alone. I promise you aren't. I remember feeling so alone because nobody around me had gone through it. Nobody talked about it. I felt like my husband wasn't understanding. The pain I was experiencing physically and emotionally was something I swear I could never bear again. But I promise you will get through it. You will.
To my first baby A,
I only wish you were here meeting me for the first time, being held by two parents who love you more than you will ever know. You gave me and your dad so much excitement and love in only a single week, but you will always continue to be loved. I love you so much and I can't wait to meet you one day.

I still have our announcement onesie in my nightstand along with the pregnancy test I took. I will keep this onesie forever and squeeze it tight whenever I pull it out. I used to look at it and only cry, but since then it has gotten me through some pretty tough days. So thank you. We will always love you.
Hey everyone! I'm back with another bump-date! This pregnancy is FLYING by. We have been so busy around here and it feels so normal to be pregnant now so time is just speeding on by. I honestly can't believe we will have a baby in like 15 weeks!
Total weight gain/loss: 10 pounds gained according to my doctors first log weight at my first appointment.
Maternity clothes? Still none. I really need to be getting at least a belly band soon. My xs scrubs are so tight and I am in need of longer t-shirts. Haha!
Stretch marks? None! Please please stay this way body. Don't do me wrong!
Sleep: All I know is that last night was awful. I was sooooo extremely bloated and I was having leg cramps all night.
Symptoms: Same constant lower back pain, bloat like you would not believe, leg cramps in the night, peeing every 5 minutes, and this weird thing started the other day - when I bend down to tie my shoe or pick something up, the pressure on my stomach makes me gag!
Have you told family and friends: Everyone knows and even if you're a stranger you will know! I'm showing a lot.
Miss Anything? I would kill for a citrus beer. Also I miss running.
Movement: So much! Yesterday I swear she was moving all day. I love it so so much,
Food cravings: Watermelon, grapes, apples and caramel. I also was craving pizza this week.
Anything making you queasy or sick: I've dry heaved a few times this week from bending over. It's the weirdest thing.
Have you started to show yet: YES.
Gender prediction: She is a girl!
Ultrasound Update: We haven't had an ultrasound since I was 20weeks but we had a doctor appointment this morning and she had a strong heart beat of 158.
Labor Signs: No
Belly Button in or out? In
Wedding rings on or off? On
Happy or Moody most of the time: Very happy but I do catch myself being moody a lot. Poor Shae!
Looking forward to: My mom getting here in 4 weeks!
Hello everyone, I figured I would share what a day in my life would be like. Every single day for me varies, but right now I am juggling being 6 months pregnant, clinicals, homework, my job and being a wife, keeping up with the house and taking care of two dogs and a hedgehog.
Today was my average Tuesday with clinicals and work:






So this is a little glimpse into my day-to-day life. Tuesday's are my busiest day of the week. So maybe next month I can share a different day or a weekend.
Thanks so much for reading! What does your day-to-day life look like?
Today was my average Tuesday with clinicals and work:
5:00am: Alarm rings.
I will wake up, brush my teeth, use the bathroom, wash my face & moisturize (find my morning skincare HERE).5:10am: Feed Penelope
We feed her Taste of the Wild. I like to feed her first thing because at times she won't use the bathroom right away because she is so excited to see me. So I will feed her, and then continue on with my morning before taking her out.

5:15am: Get ready at my vanity.
I plan on doing an updated makeup routine for on the go, but just know that it is quick and easy. Since I am going to the operating room, there is no need to do anything fancy to my hair as it will be covered with a scrub cap, so I just throw it in a braid, ponytail or bun.5:35am: Take out both of the dogs.
After the girls have gone potty, I will grab something quick to eat. Usually toast or a bagel. While I'm waiting for my toast or bagel to get done, I will go change into my scrubs.
5:45am: Head out the door.
Grab a water bottle, a snack or two for my break at clinicals and head out the for by 5:50am.6:15am: Arrive at the VA.
I usually arrive earlier than 6:15 and will sit in my car for a few minutes and scroll on social media before I walk in the building.
6:20am: Clinicals!
First thing I do is get greeted by my amazing preceptor and one of the RN's. Get my scrub card, grab surgical scrubs, change, get a cap and shoe covers, use the bathroom and be ready for the morning huddle by 6:45am. I get there a lot earlier then the employees so I will go set up the eye room which consists of wiping down the equipment and spreading the room with my gown and gloves, the surgical pack, the instrument tray and phaco handpiece, etc.
6:45am: Morning huddle.
This is when this particular hospital does their morning meeting. A lot of this info doesn't pertain to me because I am not an employee but I will take this time to write down all my cases for the day which usually ranges from 3-6 cataracts and sometimes a glaucoma case.7am: Surgery time!
I will go do my morning scrub (first scrub of the day) and then go set up for the first eye case. This takes anywhere from 10-15min for me. I have gotten a lot quicker.
7:30am: Begin eye cases for the day.
9:30am: Break time!
Usually about this time I take my 15min break. I'm normally incredibly hungry and thirsty by now and will eat a snack and drink some water. I will also use the restroom because I'm pregnant and tend to need to pee a lot.9:45am: Scrub back in and continue eye cases.
12pm: Done with clinicals!
To be honest, this varies. Sometimes we can be done by 11:30 or we can be there until 1:30pm, it just depends on how many cases we have. After the last case, we will clean up the room, and then I will go change back into my regular scrubs, deposit my surgical scrubs, say goodbye to everyone and head home.
1pm: Get home.
Again, this varies because it depends when I am done with clinicals. First thing I do is take out the girls. Possibly unload the dishwasher and reload it. Clean up the kitchen and do a quick clean up in the living. Next, I will make lunch!1:45-3:00pm: NAP TIME.
I can't get through a Tuesday without napping after my day at clinic. If by chance I have the energy, I will take a quick shower because I refuse to wake up extra early to shower on any given day and I like to shower at night. But since I know I will be getting home late for work, I try to get my shower in before I go.3:00pm: Wake up.
I always regret taking a nap because I am so groggy and tired after I wake up but I have tried to fight it and can never make it. Anyway, I have to get ready for work so I will change into my red and Khaki for a closing shift at Target. Pack my lunch (dinner) and head out the door by 3:35pm.4pm: Work at Target.
For the next eight hours, this is where I will be. I am a GSA for Target which means I am basically in charge of the front end of the store. I'm the person guests complain to, I'm the person who deals with the good, the bad, and the ugly. While Target is a great company, I am so looking forward to being done working in retail in just ONE month!11:30pm: Clock out of work!
Finally, I can head home! I always call my mom on my drive home. It is our routine.11:50pm: Arrive home!
I will fill my water bottle, get into pajamas, wash off my makeup, feed my hedgehog Wilbur, crawl into bed and try to sleep!So this is a little glimpse into my day-to-day life. Tuesday's are my busiest day of the week. So maybe next month I can share a different day or a weekend.
Thanks so much for reading! What does your day-to-day life look like?
![]() |
| 21 Weeks |
How far along? Right now I am 23 weeks + 4 days! Her face is fully-formed and she just needs some more fat to fill it out. :)
Total weight gain/loss: At my last appt (20weeks), I had gained a total of a pound and a half, but I am up to 7 pounds gained (according to my scale at home).
Maternity clothes? None yet. Although my pants are getting tight and I did go up a size in my khaki pants for work.
Stretch marks? Still none! I am really trying hard to keep it this way too. I still use my Mama Bee Stretch Mark Cream and I got some Vitamin E oil in my last BumpBox, so I will be using that soon.
Sleep: All I want is sleep! During the night I wake up several times to pee and I did go through a weird spell of constantly waking up with my hands/arms being asleep and to Charlie horses. The worst!
Symptoms: Lower back pain (when will it go away?!), really tired. So nothing too major!
Have you told family and friends: Everyone knows. :)
Miss Anything? We have been having some really warm days here in Fayetteville and I have been craving a nice cold beer or any alcoholic drink, really. Lol! Also, with spring break approaching, I can feel me missing a nice cold drink even more.
Movement: Lots and lots! It is my favorite thing in the world.
Food cravings: Frozen waffles. At any time. And cherries.
Anything making you queasy or sick: The last thing that made me sick was a chicken sausage, egg white and cheese English muffin a week or two ago. Other than that, nothing!
Have you started to show yet: Oh my goodness, yes! As you can tell from the pictures.
Gender prediction: Baby girl.
Ultrasound Update: We had our anatomy scan at 20 weeks and she is growing perfectly! Healthy heart beat in the 140's.
Labor Signs: No
Belly Button in or out? In
Wedding rings on or off? On
Happy or Moody most of the time: Very happy and excited! Although, I do find myself for irritable especially when I am tired.
Looking forward to: Our next appointment at 24 weeks!
![]() |
| 23 Weeks |
Welcome back to week 3 of my Valentine's Day posts! I figured what better way to start off the last day of January then to share some gift eyes for the special someone in your life!

A watch with a cute note like this one!

What better way to spoil your man with all of his favorite things! It is super customizable too so I think this is a great idea.

This is a super customizable gift but shows you made an effort. You could substitute the skittles with his favorite candy!

Lets not be shy here, we all know V-Day can be quite the romantic holiday. I love the Five senses gift idea!

Probably super cheesy, but what person in this world doesn't love new shoes?!

Why not go all out with balloons and make it special with a card? I would MELT if my husband ever did this for me! *hint, hint*

I think jewelry is a no-brainer, but something customizable like one of these necklaces wouldn't break the bank and is also meaningful.

No woman will pass up breakfast in bed. It means she didn't have too! This is one of the easiest and most romantic ways to start your day off.

Plan your woman something special for the day or evening. It doesn't have to be exactly like this, but just taking time to think of something thoughtful for the two of you to do will be the best thing you can get for her. I promise!
For your husband/boyfriend:

A watch with a cute note like this one!

What better way to spoil your man with all of his favorite things! It is super customizable too so I think this is a great idea.

This is a super customizable gift but shows you made an effort. You could substitute the skittles with his favorite candy!

Lets not be shy here, we all know V-Day can be quite the romantic holiday. I love the Five senses gift idea!

Probably super cheesy, but what person in this world doesn't love new shoes?!
For your wife/girlfriend:

Why not go all out with balloons and make it special with a card? I would MELT if my husband ever did this for me! *hint, hint*

I think jewelry is a no-brainer, but something customizable like one of these necklaces wouldn't break the bank and is also meaningful.

No woman will pass up breakfast in bed. It means she didn't have too! This is one of the easiest and most romantic ways to start your day off.

Plan your woman something special for the day or evening. It doesn't have to be exactly like this, but just taking time to think of something thoughtful for the two of you to do will be the best thing you can get for her. I promise!
Here is week 2 of my Valentine's Day themed posts. Here are 5 sweet treats to make for your Valentine:

Conversation Heart Bark (Recipe)

Valentine's Day Chex Mix (Recipe)

Conversation Heart Popcorn (Recipe)

Glazed Strawberry Muffins (Recipe)

Cupid Floats (Recipe)

Conversation Heart Bark (Recipe)

Valentine's Day Chex Mix (Recipe)
Conversation Heart Popcorn (Recipe)
Glazed Strawberry Muffins (Recipe)
Cupid Floats (Recipe)
Since Valentine's Day is in just 4 weeks, I figured I would do a Valentine's Day post every week until then! There is nothing better then starting your day off with breakfast, and Shae usually (if neither of us are working) with breakfast in bed! Here are some amazing breakfast ideas for you and your significant other and even some for the kids!

Strawberry Smoothie!
You can't go wrong with a smoothie for breakfast. It will also be great to surprise the kids or your significant other with before they run out the door for work or school. Quick, healthy and cheap!

White Chocolate Raspberry Pancakes
I think I would die and go to heaven with these pancakes. Unlike most women in the world, I do not like milk or dark chocolate. I'm all about the white chocolate and this breakfast would be perfect for those in your life like me!
![]()
Heart Shaped Egg Breakfast
This is right up my husbands heart! This would be a great go-to to make breakfast for your husband.

Pink Lemonade Protein Bites
Since Valentine's Day falls on a Tuesday this year, this would be a perfect breakfast for the kids before school. They could take a few on the go and it's as easy as that!

Strawberry Mimosa's
If by chance you and your significant other have the day off, or you are spending the day with your girl friends, this would be delicious and perfect for breakfast or brunch! I wish I wasn't pregnant so I could make me one. Haha!
What breakfast ideas do you have planned for your Valentine?
Strawberry Smoothie!
You can't go wrong with a smoothie for breakfast. It will also be great to surprise the kids or your significant other with before they run out the door for work or school. Quick, healthy and cheap!
White Chocolate Raspberry Pancakes
I think I would die and go to heaven with these pancakes. Unlike most women in the world, I do not like milk or dark chocolate. I'm all about the white chocolate and this breakfast would be perfect for those in your life like me!
Heart Shaped Egg Breakfast
Pink Lemonade Protein Bites
Since Valentine's Day falls on a Tuesday this year, this would be a perfect breakfast for the kids before school. They could take a few on the go and it's as easy as that!
Strawberry Mimosa's
If by chance you and your significant other have the day off, or you are spending the day with your girl friends, this would be delicious and perfect for breakfast or brunch! I wish I wasn't pregnant so I could make me one. Haha!
Hey all, I am 16 weeks pregnant as I type this. Which means we found out what baby A was 2 weeks ago on Christmas Eve, and we announced the name a couple days ago.
In case you were all wondering, Baby A is a....

GIRL
And her name is...

Everlee Diamond Atkins
In case you were all wondering, Baby A is a....

GIRL
And her name is...

Everlee Diamond Atkins











